Confessions of a Bibliophile

I had a relapse this past weekend. I walked into a Barnes & Noble with the firm intention of buying only one book. This book was a necessary purchase, in the way that pretty covers and an upcoming bookclub theme make it necessary. And…I had a coupon. Every facet of this purchase was (practically) justified. What helped strengthen my resolve were the just-bought bags of groceries sitting in the back seat. I couldn’t waste time browsing! 

Apparently my book of choice hadn’t been offered recently, and they were out of stock. Of course, they could order it for me… “But you don’t understand; I have a coupon!” Now I was at the point that I couldn’t let it go to waste. (Way to go, marketing group!) So I walked out with three new books.

Mind you, I’ve been very good lately about sticking to my “no more buying books until you read the ones you have” resolution. And let’s face it, I didn’t mean all my unread books—I just had to make some progress. Either way you look at it, I’m pretty sure I have a problem (or close to having one?), and I’m pretty sure this qualifies as falling off the wagon.

But confession is good for the soul, right?! And I can be good…for a little while, at least. 😉 

 

Leave a Reply

